Permissions

The permissions tab defines Argos Manager permissions as well at Desktop Client project access for users within a group.

Argos Manager Permissions

There are three options for defining User Group access to Argos Manager

  • Cannot access Argos Manager - These users cannot open the Argos Manager at all. In general, most users in a company would fall into this category. Note - Argos Manager settings do not affect the Desktop Client.
  • Can Administer Argos Manager (full permissions) - These users have access to all areas and settings in the Argos Manager - including setting Argos Manager permissions for other users. We recommend using this setting for those who will maintain the Argos installation.
  • Access specific parts of the Argos Manager - An accounting user may want access to Items & Costing, Projects, and Reports & Data, but not need access to other areas. A project manager might only need access to Reports & Data to run a monthly report. Specific permissions can be tailored for user groups.

Manual Billing Access

Access to the Argos Manual Entry tool can be defined through Group permission settings. Click here to read more about Manual Entry .

Project Access

If you have Interactive Billing enabled for your users, they are prompted for the Desktop Client after making prints, copies or other billable job types. By default, all billing codes in Argos will be available to all users. However, you may want to limit the scope for some users.

Example scenarios:

  • Multi-Office environments - if you have certain codes that are only used in specific offices, you may want to exclude them from the users who would not need to bill to those codes.
  • Overhead codes - Some accounting packages include many overhead codes that should never be used for printing expenses, such as Sick Time, Vacation, Maternity Leave, etc.
  • Administrative codes - Some administrative codes should only be used by IT staff, office administrators, etc.

To accomplish this, Argos lets you build visibility rules for user groups.

Visibility rules are evaluated in order. Hence, it's best to start with general rules (e.g. "hide all billing codes") and work toward increasingly specific rules.

Maximum Number of Rules

In order to avoid confusion and to preserve Argos Desktop Client performance, Argos limits the number of user group rules to ten.

To establish billing code visibility rules:

From the User Group properties dialog, click the Permissions tab.

  1. Click the Project Access button.
  2. Use the Add, Edit, and Remove buttons to change rules.
  3. Use the Move Up and Move Down buttons to change the order in which the rules are evaluated.
  4. Click "View Projects" button to preview the filtered list that your group will be able to access.

By default, all billing codes are included (visible):

Billing code access rules can be defined for any tier of your code structure. In the above example, Project, phase and task rules are defined separately.


Example

Let's say you want to limit a particular user group to only non-Overhead billing codes with office values of San Francisco or New York, but allow one specific overhead project for billing - "SF Overhead".

Create rules to Include all codes assigned to the San Francisco and New York office:

Create a rule to Exclude all codes with "Overhead" type.

Create a rule to Include the "SF Overhead" code.

Rules can be reorganized to achieve different results. For example, if you excluded all Overhead projects, and then included all New York projects, the NY Overhead project would be available. In the current sort order, it is not, because New York is included before Overhead is excluded.

The "Test..." button is useful for determining if your rule was created as expected. This will bring up a dialog showing all active projects.

Select a project/phase/task from the list and it will tell you if it will be available for users in this group to see.

Alternately, you can use "View Projects" to see a list of all projects that will be available with the current filter.

Edit Job History

Editing job history enables users to go back and change project information for print jobs they've previously billed within a given time period. Here's some more info on implementing this feature of the desktop client.

Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.